h1

My Albums of 2009

January 18, 2010

Tsk, typical. I procrastinated for ages on doing my list and making it all nice and readable, but now I’ve got to the point in the month when I need to knuckle down on work for the next issue of AU (which will be free!) so yer getting a plain list and not much else. Sorry.

I found that there were loads of albums I really liked but not so many that demanded I cling them to my bosom the way Why?’s Alopecia did on 2008, or Interpol and British Sea Power’s debuts back in 2002 and 2003. But that’s probably down to the amount of music I’m exposed to these days as much as anything else. There was certainly plenty to enthuse about anyway, and every one of these 50 albums is well worth investigating. I will be back in due course to add links, videos and maybe some nice words. PROMISE! In the meantime, here’s my 2009 in list form.

PS: That’s correct, no Animal Collective. Yeo!

1. Fever Ray – Fever Ray
2. The xx – xx
3. Future of the Left – Travels With Myself And Another
4. Martyn – Great Lengths
5. Shackleton – Three EPs
6. Wild Beasts – Two Dancers
7. The Horrors – Primary Colours
8. The Pains of Being Pure At Heart – The Pains of Being Pure At Heart
9. Phoenix – Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
10. White Denim – Fits
11. Dirty Projectors – Bitte Orca
12. Moderat – Moderat
13. Royksopp – Junior
14. Nosaj Thing – Drift
15. School of Seven Bells – Alpinisms
16. Ben Frost – By The Throat
17. Let Our Enemies Beware – Against Karate
18. Junior Boys – Begone Dull Care
19. And So I Watch You From Afar – And So I Watch You From Afar
20. DOOM – Born Like This
21. A Place To Bury Strangers – Exploding Head
22. BATS – Red In Tooth And Claw
23. The Juan Maclean – The Future Will Come
24. Sonic Youth – The Eternal
25. The Field – Yesterday And Today
26. Ben Klock – One
27. Marvins Revolt – Patrolling The Heights
28. Simian Mobile Disco – Temporary Pleasure
29. Yeah Yeah Yeahs – It’s Blitz!
30. Girls – Album
31. Fuck Buttons – Tarot Sport
32. Part Chimp – Thriller
33. Boxcutter – Arecibo Message
34. wAgAwAgA – Jinjanoon Bus
35. Peverelist – Jarvik Mindstate
36. YACHT – See Mystery Lights
37. tUnE-yArDs – BiRd-BrAiNs
38. Space Dimension Controller – Unidentified Flying Oscillator
39. Mariachi El Bronx – El Bronx
40. Lightning Bolt – Earthly Delights
41. Dan Deacon – Bromst
42. Gentle Friendly – Ride Slow
43. Desire – II
44. Brakes – Touchdown
45. Panda Kopanda – This Hope Will Kill Us
46. The Ghost of a Thousand – New Hopes, New Demonstrations
47. Ghost – Freedom Of Thought
48. Mos Def – The Ecstatic
49. Saint Dude’s – Boys Gone Wild
50. Wavves – Wavvves

5 comments

  1. Well,I excluded Bitte Orca just to be contrary but it has grown on me quite a bit.You’re not serious about AC not being in your top 50 of last year though, are you? ARE YOU?You’re only joking,I know it in my heart.


  2. I am serious! I just couldn’t get into it. Apart from My Girls (which is amazing), the rest of it just didn’t click. I’m sure I’ll go back to it at some point but I found it a bit dull to be honest.


  3. I’ve gotta say My Girls and Brother Sport are amazing tracks, but it didn’t grow on me as a whole, either. Much prefer the EP. The only albums I really can’t stand in this top 50 are #2 and #50, so you have a 96% approval rating in my view. Take that, world governments!


  4. Haha, I’ll take that ratio!

    Points off for hating on The xx though. Amazing band.


  5. Ah everyone needs a little devastation now and again. What annoys me is they have a song that sounds exactly like that Glasvegas song. What’s really annoying is, I can’t rememebr the name of either song. What’s REALLY annoying is I don’t like either song!



Leave a Reply

